1901 Anglo-Australian Constitution – “English only” in 2012

The Expert Panel delivered its report recognising Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples in the Constitution to the Prime Minister on 19 January 2012.

Executive summary
Recommendations for changes to the Constitution
The Panel recommends:

5 That a new ‘section 127A’ be inserted, along the following lines:
Section 127A Recognition of languages
(1) The national language of the Commonwealth of Australia is English.
(2) The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages are the original Australian languages, a part of our national heritage.